ASCE Made Me…

ASCE made me. It’s an accusation, a tribute, a frustration, and an accolade in one simple statement.  It can be used in the context of “ASCE made me do it” when you’re spending a lot of hours on ASCE-related activities (such as student competitions, planning conferences, and the general demands of being a leader at any level of ASCE).  It can also be used to explain that “ASCE made me the person I am today.” The former is used to convey the sacrifices we make and hard work we put into ASCE, and the latter is representative of the rewards gained in our personal character and professional development.

There’s a story behind the name “ASCE Made Me.” It was conceived by Jaffer Almosawy from Las Vegas as a hashtag on social media.  It has grown to be the hallmark hashtag for the Southern Nevada Branch of ASCE and is starting to spread across the west coast.  I asked him if I could use it as the title of my blog because I thought it was the perfect foundation of what I want to convey to my readers.

Jaffer’s story of the hashtag really embodies my feelings about the positive effects ASCE can have on your personal and professional growth. It began when he received a phone call from an unknown number offering him a job because of his involvement with ASCE. Here is his story:

When I received my acceptance letter I posted on social media and included #ascemademe. I don’t know why I included that hashtag but it felt right. It was something that I can attest to. I was not the smartest kid in my classes, I was actually pretty shy until I got involved, which all kind of plays a part in how ASCE has shaped my career and who I am.

I really hope to express the reality of being involved with ASCE and help clarify the complexities of the Society.  My goal is to write personal accounts of my experiences over the last ten years (the good, the bad, and the ugly) and entice others to become more involved.  Ultimately, I want to share my story of how ASCE Made Me who I am today.

12597061_10100884665500278_1715055778_o
Jaffer’s #ASCEMADEME Sweatshirt in Rebel Red
4 thoughts on “ASCE Made Me…

  1. Its such as you learn my mind! You seem to
    know a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.

    I think that you simply can do with some percent to power
    the message home a little bit, however instead of that,
    that is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

